## 2.--Ministries since Confederation and Members of the Sixteenth Ministry.

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appeared in the Year Book of 1912, pp. 422-429. A list of the members of Dominion Ministries from 1911 to 1921 appeared in the Year Book of 1920, pp. 651-653. A list of the members of the Twelfth and Thirteenth Ministries appeared on pp. 76-77 of the 1927-28 Year Book. Members of the Fourteenth Ministry are listed at p. 69 of the 1930 Year Book and members of the Fifteenth Ministry on p. 67 of the 1934-35 Year Book.

- 1. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Prime Minister. From July 1, 1867, to Nov. 6, 1873.
- 2. Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, Prime Minister. From Nov. 7, 1873, to Oct. 16, 1878.
- 3. Rt. Hon. Sir John A. Macdonald, Prime Minister. From Oct. 17, 1878, to June 6, 1891.
- 4. Hon. Sir John J. C. Abbott, Prime Minister. From June 16, 1891, to Dec. 5, 1892.
- 5. Hon. Sir John S. D. Thompson, Prime Minister. From Dec. 5, 1892, to Dec. 12, 1894.
- 6. Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, Prime Minister. From Dec. 21, 1894, to April 27, 1896.
- 7. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Prime Minister. From May 1, 1896, to July 8, 1896.
- 8. Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Prime Minister. From July 11, 1896, to Oct. 6, 1911.
- 9. Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Prime Minister. (Conservative Administration.) From Oct. 10, 1911, to Oct. 12, 1917.
- Rt. Hon. Sir Robert L. Borden, Prime Minister. (Unionist Administration.) From Oct. 12, 1917, to July 10, 1920.
- Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Prime Minister. (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party".)
   From July 10, 1920, to Dec. 29, 1921.
- 12. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From Dec. 29, 1921, to June 28, 1926.
- 13. Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, Prime Minister. From June 29, 1926, to Sept. 25, 1926.
- 14. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From Sept. 25, 1926, to Aug. 6, 1930.
- 15. Rt. Hon. Richard Bedford Bennett, Prime Minister. From Aug. 7, 1930, to Oct. 23, 1935.
- 16. Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, Prime Minister. From Oct. 23, 1935.

## SIXTEENTH DOMINION MINISTRY.

(According to precedence of the Ministers as at the formation of the Cabinet.)

Office.	Occupant.	Date of Appointment.
Prime Minister, President of the Privy Council, Secretary of State for External Affairs.  Member of the Administration and Minister without port folio.  Minister of Mines and Resources <sup>1</sup> .  Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada	Right Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King, C.M.G	Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Pierre Joseph Arthur Car- din, K.C.	Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Finance.  Postmaster General.	Hon. Charles Avery Dunning Hon. John Campbell Elliott, K.C	Oct. 23, 1935 Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Trade and Commerce		Oct. 23, 1935
Secretary of State of Canada	Hon. Fernand Rinfret	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of National Defence	Hon. Ian Alistair Mackenzie	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Pensions and National Health	Hon. Charles Gavan Power, M.C., K.C.	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of National Revenue	Hon. James Lorimer Ilsley, K.C.	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Fisheries	Hon. Joseph Enoil Michaud, K.C.	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Labour	Hon. Norman McLeod Rogers	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Transport <sup>2</sup>	Hon. Clarence Decatur Howe	Oct. 23, 1935
Minister of Agriculture	Hon. James Garfield Gardiner	Oct. 28, 1935

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Departments of Mines, Interior, Immigration and Colonization, and Indian Affairs were organized into the new Department of Mines and Resources on Dec. 1, 1936.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The Department of Railways and Canals and the Department of Marine, together with the Civil Aviation Branch of the Department of National Defence were organized into the new Department of Transport on Nov. 2, 1936.